Author Topic: MED10WFB I'm looking for a MED10WFB Wireless N Dongle. Who has one ?  (Read 1392 times)

Offline willemsej

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-1

Offline elton-77

  • Experienced Member
  • **
  • Posts: 112
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +2/-1
Re: MED10WFB I'm looking for a MED10WFB Wireless N Dongle. Who has one ?
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2020, 08:24:27 AM »
I've been looking for a few years in the UK. Nothing ever his selling posts and there are none in the European warehouse. You may be lucky with a used one from a member of the forums ... but I wouldn't rely on this.

Best of luck.
AV: Panasonic TX-58EX700B & SC-HTE200EBK Speakerboard, Oppo BDP-93  Mede8er MED1000X3D with 3TB internal & 2x 3TB external HDDs  Denon  AVR3313, Monitor Audio Silver 8i & 10i  Mission 77DS & 772  SVS PB12+ Sk-Q
HiFi: Musical Fidelity X-A1, Pair X-A50, X-LP, X-Can2, X-Ray  Mission 753's  Rega Planer 3  Beyer DT990 Sony 46W5500   Mede8er MED1000X3D with 3TB internal & 2 x 1.5TB external HDDs

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 393
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +203/-55
Re: MED10WFB I'm looking for a MED10WFB Wireless N Dongle. Who has one ?
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2020, 12:59:57 PM »
They are not as good as you might expect. Realtek forgot to mention the 300 figure is for simultaneous 150 upload and 150 download. It only has one aerial, and is not MIMO. And that figure,like all wi-fi  specs, are only achieved during 1m apart tests. You  are not going to  stream HD via that device when  router and player are in seperate rooms. 

The drivers are embeded in the firmware. So any dongle using the correct RTL8191SU realtek wifi chip should work.
I tested using a Sumvision back in the day.



https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32883208849.html





As you see...some come with an  aerial, unlike  the Mede8er version.

You might like to  consider a Wi-fi bridge as well. These did not exist 5 years ago.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B014SK2H6W/ref=psdc_430581031_t1_B005OIB6XI

and with 5GHX;-

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Vonets-Extender-Wireless-Repeater-VAP11AC/dp/B07L6Y63Q6/ref=pd_aw_sbs_147_3/260-1233460-1634744?_encoding=UTF8&pd_rd_i=B07L6Y63Q6&pd_rd_r=75aa782d-f3f6-4c11-b569-9dc5b0b88595&pd_rd_w=oY8GZ&pd_rd_wg=XX7r0&pf_rd_p=0208d703-a674-4413-8899-c3889837d212&pf_rd_r=XEBF6M2NAKRGAXXN9RA7&psc=1&refRID=XEBF6M2NAKRGAXXN9RA7

Vonets seem to specialise in this niche product:-

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Vonets/b/ref=bl_dp_s_web_1669196031?ie=UTF8&node=1669196031&field-lbr_brands_browse-bin=Vonets
« Last Edit: January 12, 2020, 10:45:53 AM by jer1956 »

Offline elton-77

  • Experienced Member
  • **
  • Posts: 112
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +2/-1
Re: MED10WFB I'm looking for a MED10WFB Wireless N Dongle. Who has one ?
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2020, 03:55:18 PM »
I've tried with a wifi bridge, a Vonets version, and just couldn't get it to work properly. Not just with the  Mede8er, but with other 'audio' bits.

It would make a network connection [eg pass the 'connection' test] but would not find any data when trying to scan films or TV series. This was a year ago and before the links to do changed.

 

AV: Panasonic TX-58EX700B & SC-HTE200EBK Speakerboard, Oppo BDP-93  Mede8er MED1000X3D with 3TB internal & 2x 3TB external HDDs  Denon  AVR3313, Monitor Audio Silver 8i & 10i  Mission 77DS & 772  SVS PB12+ Sk-Q
HiFi: Musical Fidelity X-A1, Pair X-A50, X-LP, X-Can2, X-Ray  Mission 753's  Rega Planer 3  Beyer DT990 Sony 46W5500   Mede8er MED1000X3D with 3TB internal & 2 x 1.5TB external HDDs

Offline elton-77

  • Experienced Member
  • **
  • Posts: 112
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +2/-1
Re: MED10WFB I'm looking for a MED10WFB Wireless N Dongle. Who has one ?
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2020, 04:00:24 PM »

The drivers are embeded in the firmware. So any dongle using the correct RTL8191SU realtek wifi chip should work.
I tested using a Sumvision back in the day.

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32883208849.html


In the event of using the above, would you also need the MED20PCi to make the Mede8er wifi 'ready' or will the dongle do that?
AV: Panasonic TX-58EX700B & SC-HTE200EBK Speakerboard, Oppo BDP-93  Mede8er MED1000X3D with 3TB internal & 2x 3TB external HDDs  Denon  AVR3313, Monitor Audio Silver 8i & 10i  Mission 77DS & 772  SVS PB12+ Sk-Q
HiFi: Musical Fidelity X-A1, Pair X-A50, X-LP, X-Can2, X-Ray  Mission 753's  Rega Planer 3  Beyer DT990 Sony 46W5500   Mede8er MED1000X3D with 3TB internal & 2 x 1.5TB external HDDs

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 393
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +203/-55
Re: MED10WFB I'm looking for a MED10WFB Wireless N Dongle. Who has one ?
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2020, 04:08:18 PM »
AS long as they are USB based, they plug in the USB socket. But as the USB drivers are fixed in the firmware, it must be the Realtek WiFI chip I specified.

The USB stack is a bigger load on the CPU than the PCI-stack. So  the same realtek  chip in PCI form can stream at high rates without dropping frames.

Thats why PCI wifi was added. it would be pointless having it without some advantage, since the USB dongle was already available.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2020, 10:46:18 AM by jer1956 »

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 393
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +203/-55
Re: MED10WFB I'm looking for a MED10WFB Wireless N Dongle. Who has one ?
« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2020, 10:50:43 AM »
I've tried with a wifi bridge, a Vonets version, and just couldn't get it to work properly. Not just with the  Mede8er, but with other 'audio' bits.

It would make a network connection [eg pass the 'connection' test] but would not find any data when trying to scan films or TV series. This was a year ago and before the links to do changed.

Its something i have not tried.  But you must know me by now. If it did try, I would be like a dog with a bone until i got it to  work.
Others prefare using the players...I get more fun out of making them  work.

I have ordered this:-

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B014J54D9U/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Its only 16. I will try to get it to work with a Mede8er. This  is a MIMO device with two aerials. Hence when it says 300mbps, it means 300mbps!

I have found a guide:-

https://help.ekmmetering.com/support/solutions/articles/6000115412-how-to-set-up-the-vonets-wifi-bridge

I have another use for it when i have finished testing. Adding wifi lan to my Samsung Smarthub.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2020, 10:44:24 AM by jer1956 »

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 393
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +203/-55
Re: MED10WFB I'm looking for a MED10WFB Wireless N Dongle. Who has one ?
« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2020, 10:59:38 AM »
The other option is Travel Modem, as long as it comes with a LAN socket. It can be used  as bridge/repeater connected to another wifi hub, making the lan cable connect Mede8er a client of the other network.

https://nerdtechy.com/best-travel-router

Again...they have the advanatage of using 5ghz for higher connection speeds.

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 393
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +203/-55
Re: MED10WFB I'm looking for a MED10WFB Wireless N Dongle. Who has one ?
« Reply #8 on: January 14, 2020, 12:21:17 PM »
I just got the Vonets and have it working.  It is not plug.n.play.

I set it up as a bridge connected to my Laptop.  I disabled its hotspot..and it already starts with its DHCP sever disabled.  I then chose my routers 2.4GHZ SSID, and reboot on the Vonets webgui.  That never completed, so I just shutdown the laptop. On power up I had a new wired connection with a router allocated IP.
You must take note of that IP.

I shutdown the Laptop, and moved the Vonets to X3D. It booted.....but Setup said the old LAN ip was in use.
I expected that problem having read some problem guides on the vonets.
So I set up Manual Lan, using the IP allocated to  the Vonets when setup on the laptop.
I now have NFS streaming, trailers, and VideosearchXL working via the Vonets Bridge.       


But.....I have a lot of stuttering.
I checked and its only 100mbps LAN!!!!
That is something to  check  with any kind of bridge. 

I now have it working with with Smarthings HUb, for which it is more than  adequate.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2020, 02:50:02 PM by jer1956 »

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 393
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +203/-55
Re: MED10WFB I'm looking for a MED10WFB Wireless N Dongle. Who has one ?
« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2020, 12:14:37 PM »
I have just ordered this:-

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32883208849.html



..to see if it works.

It has the correct chip...and a 6dbi aerial. I am interested in seeing how well it performs. 

The add says it's using the same chip as the Dlink DWA-130
That is a 10 year old device, now defunct. There must second hand ones on eBay.

You can find all kinds of niche products on Aliexpress. Solutions to problems you never knew you had.

This is the only bridge on aliexpress with gigabit lan:-

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32915691076.html?spm=a2g0o.productlist.0.0.627412d1szfLZY&algo_pvid=1f8976d8-9b5d-41c7-bfbd-4071080ad060&algo_expid=1f8976d8-9b5d-41c7-bfbd-4071080ad060-0&btsid=5ee2942b-3466-4ba9-a72d-6d0231ed7921&ws_ab_test=searchweb0_0,searchweb201602_9,searchweb201603_53

Thats a nice bit of kit if you have not moved your modem/router to the TV with the rest of the networked home Theater KIt. I did that years ago.    All of it is connect by gbit cable to  the modem/router.

I have no need of this thing, and no alternative use for it. So I won't be buying it to see if it works.

« Last Edit: January 16, 2020, 01:46:11 PM by jer1956 »

Offline elton-77

  • Experienced Member
  • **
  • Posts: 112
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +2/-1
Re: MED10WFB I'm looking for a MED10WFB Wireless N Dongle. Who has one ?
« Reply #10 on: January 24, 2020, 08:10:26 PM »
I have just ordered this:-

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32883208849.html



..to see if it works.

It has the correct chip...and a 6dbi aerial. I am interested in seeing how well it performs. 

The add says it's using the same chip as the Dlink DWA-130


I too ordered that antenna but after jumping through Aliexpress hoops on payment types, it has deleted my order!!!  Plus, now it's Chinese new year I cannot get an answer from them.

Pain in the arse ... think I'll just keep my 10m Cat5 cable and join the router to the Mede8er on the odd occasions when things start working again.

AV: Panasonic TX-58EX700B & SC-HTE200EBK Speakerboard, Oppo BDP-93  Mede8er MED1000X3D with 3TB internal & 2x 3TB external HDDs  Denon  AVR3313, Monitor Audio Silver 8i & 10i  Mission 77DS & 772  SVS PB12+ Sk-Q
HiFi: Musical Fidelity X-A1, Pair X-A50, X-LP, X-Can2, X-Ray  Mission 753's  Rega Planer 3  Beyer DT990 Sony 46W5500   Mede8er MED1000X3D with 3TB internal & 2 x 1.5TB external HDDs

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 393
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +203/-55
Re: MED10WFB I'm looking for a MED10WFB Wireless N Dongle. Who has one ?
« Reply #11 on: January 25, 2020, 10:27:11 AM »
I too ordered that antenna but after jumping through Aliexpress hoops on payment types, it has deleted my order!!!  Plus, now it's Chinese new year I cannot get an answer from them.

Pain in the arse ... think I'll just keep my 10m Cat5 cable and join the router to the Mede8er on the odd occasions when things start working again.

Sorry to hear that.

I was taking the risk that it might not work...so others didn't have to.  Its not like it cost 100. 

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 393
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +203/-55
Re: MED10WFB I'm looking for a MED10WFB Wireless N Dongle. Who has one ?
« Reply #12 on: January 25, 2020, 11:26:20 AM »
The adapter arrived 30 mins ago.
I now have it working. As expected....the inbuilt USB wifi driver loaded because its the correct wifi chip. 

I was surprised though.   My ASUS router is reporting a router to x3d connection speed of 300 mbps!
Thats the direction used when streaming to  the player.

The opposite direction is 150mbps, as usual.

Bearing in mind my router is under the TV and 10 cms from the X3d.

So immediate tests showed no sign of stuttering with BD rips.

I just set up pci-e wifi again. It is stuck on 150 mbps.

Will retry this dongle in case i was seeing things.

It is 300mbps with the dongle!
« Last Edit: January 25, 2020, 11:50:22 AM by jer1956 »