Author Topic: BD Stuttering / Move to NFS?  (Read 10512 times)

Offline Deno

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 43
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
BD Stuttering / Move to NFS?
« on: March 02, 2013, 07:25:08 AM »
Hi

I want to start to rebuild my movie collection from scratch and with a lot of my favourite movies I want to rip uncompressed to maintain optimum quality. I've so far done this with the Bourne trilogy as a test and i'm getting stuttering over my SMB shares on my NAS boxes (DLINK 320 sharecenter). I plugged my boxee box in and it plays them effortlessly. This is not the solution though, now I have Mede8er I want to stop using Boxee Box.

So, from reading this forum, i'm guessing I need to try NFS sharing?

Trouble is, I can't get it to work. I tried many different things yesterday and always go login failed. The steps I took were:

1. Enable an NFS share in the Dlink.
2. Set it to read/write permisson
3. It asks for a HOST. I've been putting in the mede8er IP address. Is that correct?

Go to Mede8er, probe NFS, A folder pops up but I can't access it, failed.

Can anyone help me with this?

Thanks

Dene



Offline Maasbommel

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 11 503
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +51/-8
Re: BD Stuttering / Move to NFS?
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2013, 08:24:02 AM »
He host should normally the mede8er ip to fill into the NAS settings.
On a Synology NAS you can also use *. As some wildcard.
Suggest to give that a try.

Also check if jumbo frames setting is off. Use mtu=1500


Sent using Tapatalk HD
Read the  Mede8er 400X/500X Beginners Guide
or Mede8er 500X2/400X2/450X2 Beginners Guide

Also check the Couto X3D Newbies Guide first.

Please don't PM me but post on the forum.

Offline Deno

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 43
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: BD Stuttering / Move to NFS?
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2013, 09:17:25 AM »
He host should normally the mede8er ip to fill into the NAS settings.
On a Synology NAS you can also use *. As some wildcard.
Suggest to give that a try.

Also check if jumbo frames setting is off. Use mtu=1500

I tried a wildcard * but still not connecting.

In my NAS setup i've set the share as the movies folder - HD Movies 1

Do I then put the IP address into the Mede8er - 192.168.0.110 and when it asked for the folder path put Volume_1/HD Movies 1? I've tried both that and just HD Movies 1

And is the mtu=1500 in the NAS settings or the Mede8er settings?

Thanks

Dene

« Last Edit: March 02, 2013, 09:23:21 AM by Deno »

Offline Maasbommel

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 11 503
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +51/-8
Re: BD Stuttering / Move to NFS?
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2013, 09:57:36 AM »
The jumbo frame or MTU setting is on your nas not on mede8er.

You might want to try to remove the spaces in the share name and then retry.


Sent using Tapatalk HD
Read the  Mede8er 400X/500X Beginners Guide
or Mede8er 500X2/400X2/450X2 Beginners Guide

Also check the Couto X3D Newbies Guide first.

Please don't PM me but post on the forum.

Offline Maasbommel

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 11 503
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +51/-8
Re: BD Stuttering / Move to NFS?
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2013, 09:58:50 AM »
Normally using the mede8er probe option and filling in the ip of your NAS should do the trick.


Sent using Tapatalk HD
Read the  Mede8er 400X/500X Beginners Guide
or Mede8er 500X2/400X2/450X2 Beginners Guide

Also check the Couto X3D Newbies Guide first.

Please don't PM me but post on the forum.

Offline Deno

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 43
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: BD Stuttering / Move to NFS?
« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2013, 10:11:29 AM »

You might want to try to remove the spaces in the share name and then retry.


Why is it ALWAYS the simplest things that are causing the problem ;-)

thank you SO much mate, you've been brilliant.

Now I just need to work out how to direct YaDIS to this shared folder :-)

Dene

Offline Maasbommel

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 11 503
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +51/-8
Re: BD Stuttering / Move to NFS?
« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2013, 10:47:07 AM »
Good to see your issues are solved.

On my OMV NAS I can use spaces in the names but have seen more of this issues caused by spaces in the path name by Apple users. So that triggered me to do this suggestion.

And how does the streaming go now - better on NFS?
Read the  Mede8er 400X/500X Beginners Guide
or Mede8er 500X2/400X2/450X2 Beginners Guide

Also check the Couto X3D Newbies Guide first.

Please don't PM me but post on the forum.

Offline Deno

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 43
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: BD Stuttering / Move to NFS?
« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2013, 11:05:25 AM »
Good to see your issues are solved.

On my OMV NAS I can use spaces in the names but have seen more of this issues caused by spaces in the path name by Apple users. So that triggered me to do this suggestion.

And how does the streaming go now - better on NFS?

Hmmm, after all that it's actually worse with a 30Gb Bourne rip ;-)

I'd immediately blame the Dlink DNS320 as I know it's a bargain basement NAS box but that same 30Gb file plays fine through my Boxee Box.

Any ideas?

Dene

Offline Maasbommel

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 11 503
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +51/-8
Re: BD Stuttering / Move to NFS?
« Reply #8 on: March 02, 2013, 11:24:16 AM »
On mede8er setup side, did you already set NFS to:
- 32K
- Proto to UDP

Reboot your mede8er after that.

Then go into a NFS share and press the F1 button.
Check what you see over there and check if Rsize is on 32k
Read the  Mede8er 400X/500X Beginners Guide
or Mede8er 500X2/400X2/450X2 Beginners Guide

Also check the Couto X3D Newbies Guide first.

Please don't PM me but post on the forum.

Offline Deno

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 43
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: BD Stuttering / Move to NFS?
« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2013, 11:38:04 AM »
I made the changes you said and rebooted but think the rsize is wrong?


Offline Maasbommel

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 11 503
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +51/-8
Re: BD Stuttering / Move to NFS?
« Reply #10 on: March 02, 2013, 11:48:05 AM »
Your NAS might be topped to max 16k....
Maybe you can verify that on their forum.

Another suggestion - try proto TCP and reboot and try again.
Read the  Mede8er 400X/500X Beginners Guide
or Mede8er 500X2/400X2/450X2 Beginners Guide

Also check the Couto X3D Newbies Guide first.

Please don't PM me but post on the forum.

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 393
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +203/-55
Re: BD Stuttering / Move to NFS?
« Reply #11 on: March 02, 2013, 11:49:07 AM »
Hmmm, after all that it's actually worse with a 30Gb Bourne rip ;-)

I'd immediately blame the Dlink DNS320 as I know it's a bargain basement NAS box but that same 30Gb file plays fine through my Boxee Box.

Any ideas?

Dene

The problem is one of efficiency. There is no hardware behind the lan interface, just the CPU filling and emptying buffers.  The Boxee has a far more powerful CPU, and can transfer high bitrate with a less than optimal network. To get the 1186 to  do it needs an error free network  that can use 32k UDP buffers with few re-sends.

Offline Deno

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 43
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: BD Stuttering / Move to NFS?
« Reply #12 on: March 02, 2013, 11:56:53 AM »
Another suggestion - try proto TCP and reboot and try again.

You are going to end up being my new best friend at this rate ;-)

Changing to TCP solved the problem :-) Thank you!

I don't want to keep pestering you but do you have any idea how I now direct YaDIS to this NFS share?

Thanks

Dene


Offline Deno

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 43
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +0/-0
Re: BD Stuttering / Move to NFS?
« Reply #13 on: March 02, 2013, 11:59:45 AM »
The problem is one of efficiency. There is no hardware behind the lan interface, just the CPU filling and emptying buffers.  The Boxee has a far more powerful CPU, and can transfer high bitrate with a less than optimal network. To get the 1186 to  do it needs an error free network  that can use 32k UDP buffers with few re-sends.

I've got it working flawlessly by changing the NFS proto setting to TCP.

I don't have my new AV amp until the end of the month and only then will I be able to test TrueHD. If I have the video streaming effortlessly now, should it still be as good once I start with TrueHD or does that create extra load?

Are you saying the NAS is the weak link in my chain? I have everything setup with gigbit LAN at the moment.

Dene

Offline jer1956

  • Global Moder8or
  • M8er Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17 393
  • Helpful Contribution Status: +203/-55
Re: BD Stuttering / Move to NFS?
« Reply #14 on: March 02, 2013, 12:09:57 PM »
The issue is not raw speed, but "efficiency", minimising the handshaking and wait states so  that the CPU can do more useful things like actually process the media and send it to  the codec chip.   The 1186 is on the edge of it's abilities streaming 3d.

If TCP works better it's because of it's error correction. But TCP working at it's best is  less efficient than UDP. So TCP can never work as well as UDP working on a low error rate network.  

Networking protocols where not invented for real time media streaming, but accurate document sharing.
« Last Edit: March 02, 2013, 12:16:36 PM by jer1956 »